On the blog’s back, charging through a velvet field.

Figured it was time for a blog update. My mind was a sponge this year as I’ve been reading everything in my expanding library. my knowledge absorption is better than ever. And yet, for some meals, I still forget to put away the cat food. Go figure.

old-testament-parallels-victor-harold-matthews-paperback-cover-art

I’ve read “Old Testament Parallels”, Laws and Stories from the Ancient Near East. Including a proposed origin of the Cain & Able story, Anubis and Bata, which is even more telling of a moral imperative through the device of an adulterous tale. And yet another story of King Ramseses declaring that anyone caught uttering the word “Egypt” on foreign soil would be immediately burned alive.

book74b

The next great book I had the privilege of reading was “The Narrative of Fredrick Douglass”. I found this book to be influential and look forward to his remaining autobiographies. Perhaps the most mentionable thing I took away from the book was the event when Fredrick eventually escaped the south only to be marooned in the north. Through luck & charity he made life-saving connections in the north, but even that wasn’t the end of his struggle for freedom.

I’ve started reading Jurassic Park at recommendation of my wife – 40 pages in and I’m loving it! I have 4 Coneheads and 4 Adventure Time comics to read. I bought the Adventure Time encyclopedia, but disliked it for not being informative enough so I’m selling it. (I found Tales From The Land Of Ooo to be much better. ) Amazing…But False! was filled with plenty of interesting input I was previously unaware of!

61PkTuJlvCL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

In other news, my philosophy site was effected by a hack on a neighboring server so I ended up looking for, and finding, a different philosophy forums that’s just as great. “Philosophy Forums was hacked on September 6th. Due to the hacker, everything between July 24th and September 6th is permanently missing. Unfortunately, automated backups had to be turned off months ago because they were crashing the server. We’re evaluating how to stop this from happening again. You may be able to find your own posts in a Google cache to re-post them, if you want to.”

I’ve taken the chance to research deeper issues I’ve always wondered about like how Conscientious Objectors are subject to explain in convincing detail why they are CO’s. However I did learn that this circumstance only applies to soldiers who signed up for the army under the written condition that they are not currently CO’s. My previous concern was that in the event of a draft, CO’s would have to explain their position in convincing detail or else face legal consequences for not participating in the war effort. 

I’ve considered how even the trace of the first particle popping into existence and back out would be enough pressure difference to catalyze a big bang. I’ve deduced that matter isn’t infinitely dividable, so it’s not infinite. Infinite is the antithesis of finite. Suggesting that nothing is infinite, something is finite, and everything is finite because nothing cancels itself out of the equation. Hegel extends this to say that the finite is moving toward an end, to become infinity. That everything is infinite, because the infinite contains the finite. Hegel asserts that the finite and infinite are a single unity. A philosophy debate exposed me to Friedrich Hegel and I intend on following up my next great reading effort with his first two publications.

the-phenomenology-of-mind-vols-1-and-241QAxjO-qoL

Leave a comment